Posted by: poeticwhispers | September 22, 2011

Poet of the Day: Aaron Stuedemann – Flame in Shadow

Instead of a poet who is well-known there will be some days I will stick in a writer I know and this is the first one!

Aaron was born in October of 1989 in a small city in Wisconsin. He has two sisters both of which are younger than him and who also are writers. I asked him a few questions about himself and here is how her responded to them:

I was born in the Fall of 1989, October 18th to be exact. I began my writing career early in my life. When I first learn to put words together to make sentences, the world opened up to me. My inspiration as I said before is drawn from my emotions, and ideas. In my mind I feel that the world knows enough about what we can experience with our senses. My interest lies in what will the mind do to fill in the gaps of empty words. For example, say I wanted to talk about love. Everyone knows about kissing, hugging, and many other displays of affection that affect the senses. What about the mind? How does it experience love? That is what inspires my writing, the ability to look beyond the senses, and stimulate the mind. I have always had a fondness for poetry. To me it was a way for me to express both my emotions, and my ideas. However, I did not limit myself to just poetry. I think that having a wide variety of outputs allows for ideas to be distributed freely, and without bounds. Concerning how often I write, I write when I feel an emotion strong enough to be expressed. Do I set time aside to write? No, because in my mind writing is not something planned out, or bound in some form, but something spontaneous, and free to express itself. I don’t think I would like to write professionally, because I would be bound by too many rules. As I have stated before writing needs to be free, and if I were to write professionally I would have to go through editors, critics, and the general public. I would write professionally if I wanted people to care about what I think or feel, but all I want is to express my ideas, nothing more, nothing less.

Like I said it is a little bit different from a poet who already has a biography in a book or on a website. I hope you enjoy this biography. Aaron is also my wonderful fiance! He does write and this is one of his poems. He said this one would be good to put up so this is the one I am putting up. I hope you enjoy it!

Flame in Shadow

It starts out small and innocent,
a love of freedom tried and true.
but something clicks deep within,
and steadily the fire grows.

The fire grows, strong and hungry,
seeking to consume us whole.
It knows not mercy or relief,
and so you scream trapped within.

In your screaming you do dream
of thoughts that should not be.
But stop them, no, you never can,
and so you burn in shadow’s fire.

Lost and hidden, shadows fire,
for only you feel its burn.
The smoke it chokes you up to death,
but makes you suffer on the edge.

Suffering for all time indeed,
for such a human sin.
Love is hard to keep controlled,
and so it to will turn to shadow.

What is the shadow of love?
Only a whisper of what it was.
All the passion, desire, and want,
nothing left for charity.

Charity gives but this does not,
it only takes away the truth.
And s the lie builds like the flame,
both are stronger now.

Both in strength your left for dead,
and so you just accept it.
now you live in flame and lies.
Your strength come from the darkness.

So strengthened now in darkness true,
you go out into the world.
All the darkness you do see,
with love and lies together.

And so these two forever forged,
in darkness and in flame.
Now what does all this have to do
with my life or for yours.

My life you see, is what you heard,
of darkness and of flame.
For the fire is lust and darkness mistrust,
so now you know my story.

Source of poem:

http://allpoetry.com/poem/6948203-Flame_in_Shadow-by-alendin195

By the way, this poem is copyrighted and is the property of Aaron so please keep that in mind. Thank you!


Responses

  1. Katie… 🙂 Yeah. I’m going to go share your blog with my writer-friends. So I will. I know people who would enjoy it. You should go check out my little group-blog The Silver Pens. It’s me and a group of other friends I’ve made through writing sites. We talk about writerly things. And that was great, by the way. 🙂
    ~Marie


Leave a comment

Categories